Florida is a canoeing haven thanks to its extensive sealine on the Gulf of Mexico and Atlantic ocean. It is also enriched with many rivers, lakes, and streams, making it one of the most favorable destinations for kayaking and canoeing enthusiasts.
But, for you to enjoy the exceptional canoeing opportunities, you have to be in the knowhow of the applicable laws and regulations governing water vessels in the state. First things first; do you have to register a canoe in Florida?
You don’t have to register a canoe or kayak to operate in Florida. The state regards canoes and kayaks as non-motor-powered vessels, which are among the water vessels exempt from registration. However, you must register and title a motorized vessel operating in Florida public waters.
As always, we’re your dedicated partner in keeping you in tabs with all canoeing laws and regulations in different states. Thus, for an elaborate exposition of the Florida kayaking laws, once again, join us on this journey.
Do you need to register a canoe in Florida?
You don’t require to register a canoe, racing kayak, rowing scull, or any other non-motor powered vessels (of any length) operating in Florida public waterways.
Other vessels that are exempt from registration include any non-motorized craft with a length of lesser than 16 feet. Also, if you’re using your water vessel exclusively in private waters, such as a privately owned pond, you don’t need to register it.
Do you have to register a canoe with a trolling motor in Florida?
As a general rule, a canoe, kayak, or any other water vessel with a trolling motor must be registered with the local county tax office. Also, any motorized vessel must be titled, and you have to carry the registration certificate on board all the time.
The Florida laws also mandate the display of the vessel’s registration number on both sides near the front end of the canoe. Primarily, the registration number should be above the waterline for great visibility.
Besides, the vessel’s registration numbers must be of a minimum height of 3 inches. You must also place the registration number decal at a distance of within 6 inches from the number on the port. Lastly, the decal should be on the left side of the motorized vessel.
How to register a motorized canoe or kayak in Florida
Florida law requires you to register your motorized vessel within 30 days after purchasing it. Also, you must possess the boat’s proof of ownership and the purchasing date to register it successfully. In addition, your boat must be titled for registration.
Suppose you are operating your unregistered motorized vessel within 30 days of purchase. In that case, it is mandatory to carry the proof of ownership document and the purchasing date any time you’re in public waters.
You need to visit any of your county’s driver’s license and motor vehicle service centers to register your motorized vessel. In most cases, you’ll be required to make a prior appointment.
Cost of registering a motorized vessel in Florida
You’ll spend approximately $5.25 on an electronic title. However, you can also go for the paper title, which will cost $7.75. If you’re in a hurry, you can pay $11 for faster title processing. Lastly, If you’re titling a boat previously registered in another state, you’ll need to pay an extra $4.
There’s no standard registration cost, as this depends on the length of the vessel. For instance, registering a boat measuring less than 12 feet costs $12.50. A vessel measuring between 12 to 16 feet costs $16.25, while one measuring between 16.1 feet to 16 feet will cost $78.25.
Florida Canoeing Alcohol and Drug Laws
As a general rule, you’re barred from operating a canoe, kayak, or any other water vessel in Florida while under the influence of alcohol or any other drug.
Can you get a DUI on a canoe in Florida?
Yes, operating any water vessel, whether motorized or not, while under the influence of alcohol or any drug that impairs judgment is regarded as driving under the influence (DUI).
A breath/blood alcohol (BAL) over 0.08% is considered as operating under the influence. Nonetheless, the BAL limit for individuals below 21 years of running a vessel in Florida waters is 0.02%.
Is a BUI the Same as a DUI in Florida?
Florida State regards Boating Under the Influence (BUI) to be the same as Driving Under the Influence (DUI).Thus, the penalties for either of the offenses are similar.
Florida BUI Penalties
Boating under the influence in Florida will attract hefty penalties as follows:
- You’ll be charged a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and imprisonment of up to six months for a 1st offense.
- A Second offense attracts a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000 and imprisonment of up to nine months.
- Chronic repeat offenders are likely to face more severe penalties as governed by the state statutes.
Can the police search your canoe in Florida?
The United States Revenue Cutter Service and the US Coast guard are allowed by Federal law to stop you and search the vessel for smuggled goods.
What lights do I need on my canoe at night?
You need to carry a navigation light when operating a recreational canoe between sunset and sunrise. Canoers also must display white light for display when another ship is approaching.
The navigation lights for recreational vessels should be green and red bow lights. Also, it is imperative to have a white stern light erected at least 3.3 feet high. It should also be visible from all directions.
Lastly, you must showcase a white light whenever you’re anchored or moored away from the designated mooring area during the night.
Note: Do not use red or blue lights as they are designated for the police
Are life jackets required on Canoes and kayaks in Florida?
USCG-approved personal flotation devices (PFDs) are a mandatory requirement for anyone on board a vessel in Florida waters. Also, the wearable PFDs must appropriately fit each of the boat’s crew members, be readily accessible, and be in good condition.
It’s not mandatory for adults on board a canoe or any vessel to wear the PFDs whenever they’re in the waters. Nonetheless, for children under six years, it is compulsory to wear any Type I, II, and III PFDs at all times while canoeing in a vessel measuring 26 feet and below in length.
In addition, it’s a requirement for all the vessels measuring at least 16 feet to have a readily accessible throwable Type IV PFD. The life jackets are essential, especially in ensuring personal safety for canoers.
Do I need a whistle to canoe in Florida?
You must have a sound-making device audible from at least half a mile while canoeing in Florida. For most canoers, a whistle is the most convenient device to carry, although it is not the only one. Hence, you might consider bringing any other types of sound-producing device.
Besides, make sure the whistle is readily accessible whenever required for use.
Florida VDS Laws
The state requires canoers to have three night-time visual distress signals (VDS) during the night anytime they are in the waters aboard a vessel measuring less than 16 feet. However, for vessels longer than this, it’s mandatory to have at least three day-time and three night-time visual distress signals always (during both day and night).
Is a fire extinguisher Required for a motorized kayak in Florida?
It’s not mandatory to carry a fire extinguisher while canoeing or kayaking in Florida. But, all recreational motorboats must have a USCG-approved B-1 type fire extinguisher at all times. Such boats are built in a manner that they accumulate gas fumes, thus predisposing the vessel from catching fire.
Also, all non-motorized boats are not compelled to carry fire extinguishers by the Florida waters authorities.
Minimum Age To Canoe, Kayak, And Boat in Florida
Florida State has no minimum age requirement to operate a canoe or kayak. But, anyone born or after 1988 must do an approved boating education course to operate any motorized vessel with more than 18 horsepower.
The body responsible for the course approval is the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). After successful completion of the course, you’ll be issued an ID. You must always carry this ID together with your photo ID card.
Now you know what to do if you’re planning to go on a holiday in the exhaustive FL waters. In a nutshell, you don’t need to register your canoe or kayak if it is non-motorized. Also, there’s an exception for motorized vessels operated exclusively on private waters. Remember to also take into account the above-mentioned safety precautions.
That’s all for now. Thanks for your time, and see you in Florida.